Collège Champittet is a co-educational private school in Vaud and a member of Nord Anglia Education. Its Pully campus near Lausanne offers day education from ages 3–18 and boarding from ages 11–18.
The school is at Chemin de Champittet, 1009 Pully-Lausanne. Do not plan around its former Nyon campus: the head announced that it would close after June 2024. Older promotional material still describes Nyon, but the closure announcement is explicit.
For a day pupil, the actual commute matters more than the shared Lake Geneva setting. Test the journey from your intended home before treating a school near Lausanne as a practical Geneva option.
The main decisions are teaching language, diploma and day or boarding attendance. The budget must also include mandatory activities: they are listed separately from tuition.
Who it is for
Champittet is worth considering if you want French–English education near Lausanne and a choice of school-leaving qualifications. Those choices are not interchangeable: the language demands, subjects and preparation for university differ.
The secondary curriculum page describes bilingual French–English or English pre-IB study in Grades 9–10. Later choices are the bilingual Swiss Maturité, French Baccalauréat or English-taught International Baccalaureate (IB) Diploma.
The Swiss and French routes require strong French; the IB requires strong English. The two-year IB combines six subject groups with a research essay, a course about knowledge and a programme of creative, physical and service activities. Ask for subject choices and language expectations before deciding which route fits.
The school’s secondary page gives inconsistent grade ranges for the Swiss Maturité. Have admissions map your child’s current year to the proposed class and confirm the number of years remaining to graduation. Do not assume that Grade 12 or Grade 14 means the same stage in every programme.
For a family based near Geneva, the daily journey to Pully may rule out a day place even if the curriculum is attractive. Boarding changes that calculation, but introduces a different cost and pastoral decision.
Campus and boarding
Day pupils and boarders use the Pully campus. On a visit, see the teaching spaces for your child’s actual year as well as the boarding accommodation, if relevant. Ask how evening supervision, weekend activities and travel home work for the proposed boarding arrangement.
How a child actually gets in
Applications are accepted during the year when places are available. The current entry page says there is no application fee; the separate admission fee is payable when accepting an offer.
Primary applicants submit two years of school reports and a passport or identity-card copy. Secondary applicants also need a recommendation form. Ask what is required if a younger child has not yet attended school.
The school aims to communicate its decision within two weeks of receiving the form and documents. Acceptance requires a signed letter and the admission payment. Boarders also pay the separate deposit.
The public entry page does not specify a universal entrance test or language threshold. Ask which assessments and support conditions apply to the proposed year and diploma.
Language and learning support
French as a Foreign Language (FLE) support may be compulsory from Grade 3. The terms say it can continue for two years. Pupils may join smaller classes or leave their usual class for some periods.
The standard FLE package assumes at least four pupils. If the group is smaller, private or semi-private rates apply. English as an Additional Language (EAL) may be compulsory from Grade 4.
The school also describes a separate French-immersion programme for Grades 9–13. It aims towards the DELF French-language qualification at B1, intermediate level, in Grades 9–11 and B2, upper-intermediate level, in Grades 12–13. The programme attracts additional fees, but a distinct programme price is not identified in the recaps.
If the school identifies a possible special educational need, it may ask the family to arrange specialist assessment. Some learning-support sessions are charged separately. The public documents do not define the needs or staffing capacity that the school can accommodate.
Up to three approved school-psychology sessions may be offered in one academic year. Further sessions cost CHF 160 per hour. This is short-term school support, not ongoing therapy.
The terms also allow one free organisation-focused coaching session each year. Families needing regular therapy, intensive classroom assistance or physical adjustments should obtain a written support plan and price before accepting.
The external caterer can prepare some adapted menus but does not guarantee an allergen-free environment. A medical certificate is required for a food allergy. Discuss severe allergies before enrolment.
Residence and boarding conditions
Every applicant provides identity documentation. A non-Swiss pupil must also provide a Swiss residence permit. The terms say a boarding pupil may instead hold a student visa valid for the whole academic year.
Unless the authorities approve otherwise, an international pupil cannot start without the required permission. Even a pupil aged 18 cannot live independently under the school contract.
The school website advertises boarding for ages 11–18. The 2026–27 terms say boarding admission starts at age 10. Ask Admissions to confirm the applicable minimum age.
Visa and residence-permit charges collected by the commune or canton are included in boarding fees. The terms allow no reduction or refund if a visa is refused or causes late arrival.
2026–27 fees and financial conditions
The day and boarding recaps publish annual amounts in Swiss francs. The day bill separates tuition from mandatory activities.
The mandatory-activities charge covers specified trips, camps and external programmes. It is not optional. Non-participation normally produces no refund, although the head may consider a ski-camp reduction supported by a medical certificate.
Day tuition and mandatory activities
| Stage |
Tuition |
Mandatory activities |
Annual total |
| Preschool, five mornings |
CHF 12,250 |
CHF 500 |
CHF 12,750 |
| Preschool, five mornings and four afternoons |
CHF 20,350 |
CHF 500 |
CHF 20,850 |
| Grades 1–2 |
CHF 23,280 |
CHF 1,390 |
CHF 24,670 |
| Grade 3 |
CHF 25,060 |
CHF 1,390 |
CHF 26,450 |
| Grades 4–5 |
CHF 25,320 |
CHF 1,390 |
CHF 26,710 |
| Grade 6 |
CHF 25,970 |
CHF 1,390 |
CHF 27,360 |
| Grade 7 |
CHF 25,970 |
CHF 1,860 |
CHF 27,830 |
| Grades 8–10 |
CHF 28,400 |
CHF 1,860 |
CHF 30,260 |
| Grade 11 |
CHF 30,380 |
CHF 1,860 |
CHF 32,240 |
| Grade 12 |
CHF 32,120 |
CHF 1,860 |
CHF 33,980 |
| Grade 13 |
CHF 34,680 |
CHF 1,040 |
CHF 35,720 |
| Grade 14 |
CHF 36,900 |
CHF 1,360 |
CHF 38,260 |
Transport, meals, uniforms, books, language support and diploma charges are separate for day pupils. The fee schedule describes optional services as a non-exhaustive list, so request an individual quotation.
Admission fee, deposit and sibling reductions
The admission fee is paid when the family accepts the place. It is one-time and non-refundable. There is no separate charge merely to submit an application.
| Child joining |
Admission fee |
| First child |
CHF 2,500 |
| Second child |
CHF 2,000 |
| Third child |
CHF 1,500 |
| Fourth child |
CHF 1,000 |
The terms waive the admission fee for former Champittet pupils. A boarder also pays a CHF 10,000 deposit.
The boarding deposit earns no interest. It is refundable three months after departure once bills are settled and damage has been checked. The family must provide bank details before payment can be processed.
Tuition reductions start with the third concurrently enrolled child. The third child receives 10%, the fourth 20% and the fifth 50%. These percentages apply to tuition, not every item on the bill.
Language, diploma and book charges
Eight weekly 55-minute FLE or EAL periods cost CHF 10,120 per year. The day recap charges CHF 910 for one weekly 40-minute period and CHF 1,270 for one weekly 55-minute period.
The boarding recap instead prints CHF 1,260 for the same 55-minute weekly support. Obtain the applicable amount in the offer because the two official documents differ.
Day pupils also pay the following book and supply charges:
| Stage or route |
Annual charge |
| Preschool |
CHF 100 |
| Grades 1–3 |
CHF 350 |
| Grades 4–11 and FLE |
CHF 450 |
| Grades 12–14, Swiss Maturité |
CHF 150 |
| Grades 12–14, French Baccalauréat |
CHF 500 |
| Grades 12–14, IB |
CHF 430 |
Diploma charges apply to both day pupils and boarders in Grades 13–14. Swiss Maturité charges are CHF 1,200 in Grade 13 and CHF 1,600 in Grade 14.
French Baccalauréat charges are CHF 1,200 in Grade 13 and CHF 1,900 in Grade 14. The IB charge is CHF 3,160, including examination costs.
The IB line says “Grades 13 and 14” but does not state whether CHF 3,160 is annual or covers both years. Ask Finance to identify the charging point in writing.
Meals, care and other day-pupil extras
Meals are not included in day tuition. Supervised lunch on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday costs CHF 3,360 per year. Wednesday lunch from Grade 7 costs CHF 840. Pupils from Grade 10 may bring lunch.
The annual care prices for Preschool to Grade 6 are:
| Service |
Annual charge |
| Care from 3:30pm to 5pm, four days weekly |
CHF 3,520 |
| Care from 5pm to 6pm, four days weekly |
CHF 1,940 |
| Wednesday care from noon to 6pm, including food and activity |
CHF 3,360 |
| One additional Preschool afternoon weekly |
CHF 2,025 |
Supervised study for Grades 7–14 costs CHF 880 for one day each week and requires six pupils. A Grade 7–14 extracurricular activity of 60 minutes is also listed at CHF 880 per year.
Private teaching costs CHF 85 for 40 minutes or CHF 115 for 55 minutes. For groups of two or three, the table lists CHF 50 and CHF 70. For groups of four or more, it lists CHF 30 and CHF 40.
The table does not state whether those semi-private rates are charged per pupil or per group. Ask Finance to identify the billing unit before booking.
Boarding fees and inclusions
Seven-day boarding costs CHF 112,000 per year. It includes tuition, full board, compulsory trips, limited uniform, books, supervised study, boarding activities, health and accident cover, and one weekly laundry bag.
It also includes weekend activities, three long weekends, winter skiing, equipment hire, and ski camp through Grade 12 and for the specified FLE classes. One Geneva Airport transfer at the end of August and residence-permit charges are included.
Five-day boarding costs CHF 91,800 per year. It includes tuition, full board, compulsory trips, limited uniform, books, supervised study, the induction weekend and ski camp through Grade 12 and for the specified FLE classes.
The five-day fee excludes health and accident cover, listed at CHF 3,100, weekly laundry and weekend activities. Staying for a weekend costs CHF 600 for Saturday, Sunday or both.
Both boarding arrangements exclude pocket money, private lessons, optional holiday or chaplaincy trips, dental treatment and specialist appointments. Seven-day boarders must also buy the school’s ski jacket.
For day pupils, the mandatory ski camp does not include personal equipment or private ski and snowboard lessons. Beginners must take lessons at their family’s cost. The seven-day boarding recap does include equipment hire.
Payment dates
Day fees can be paid in full by 15 June. The standard instalment option is 40% by 15 June, 30% by 30 November and 30% by 28 February.
Grade 14 Swiss Maturité day fees use two 50% payments, due on 15 June and 30 November. Monthly day billing uses ten instalments and adds 3% to tuition.
Boarding fees are payable in full by 15 June or in two instalments. The instalments are 70% by 15 June and 30% by 30 November.
For a mid-year start or change, tuition and boarding are charged from the first day of that calendar month. This can include days before the pupil actually arrives.
Withdrawal during the school year
The day recap links notice dates to the end of a billing period:
| Written day-pupil notice received |
Scheduled departure |
Liability stated in recap |
| By 30 September |
31 December |
First billing period remains due. |
| 1 October–31 December |
31 March |
Second billing period remains due. |
| After 31 December |
— |
Full academic year remains due. |
For boarding, written notice received by 31 October produces a departure date of 31 March. The first two billing periods remain due. Notice after 31 October leaves the full year payable.
Re-enrolment and late notice
Every pupil is automatically re-enrolled for the following year unless the school receives written withdrawal notice. The normal no-charge deadline is 31 March.
For day pupils, notice from 1 April to 15 May costs one month. Notice from 16 May to 15 June costs two months. After 15 June, the first billing period is due.
For boarders, notice from 1 April to 15 June makes the first billing period payable. After 15 June, the first two billing periods are payable.
Notice is valid only when the school acknowledges receiving it. Changes between five-day and seven-day boarding also require written school confirmation.
The general terms add that, after a missed deadline, the current and following billing periods are payable. They extend that rule to involuntary departure, expulsion and service packages.
That wording does not align neatly with every charge in the two recaps. The general terms also say they prevail if the documents conflict. Obtain the school’s interpretation in writing before signing or withdrawing.
Late payment
The terms allow annual default interest of 5%. They also allow the school to withhold attendance, examinations, graduation, reports, diplomas, recommendations and activities until all financial obligations are met.
The English column adds a CHF 20 fee from the second reminder and CHF 100 from the third. The parallel French column mentions only the CHF 100 third-reminder charge. Ask which wording governs the contract.
Sources used for this portrait
Official pages and documents we read. If a figure matters to your budget or your application, open the link and confirm it is still current.
Friendly orientation, not an application. Dates, fees, and programme details move. Confirm everything with the school.