United Kingdom · Leeds

Woodhouse Grove: day and boarding education near Leeds and Bradford

Woodhouse Grove offers co-educational day and boarding education at Apperley Bridge. For 2026–27, Years 7–10 cost £6,582 per term for day pupils or £15,114 for boarders, with compulsory lunch charged separately. Year 7 assessments for 2027 entry take place in the week beginning 11 January.

2–18 (Ashdown Lodge, Brontë House, The Grove)day and boardingco-edResearched 2026-09-01

Official websiteLeedsUnited Kingdom guide

Quick facts

Typical ages
2–18 (Ashdown Lodge, Brontë House, The Grove)
Location
Leeds, United Kingdom
Boarding
day and boarding · co-ed
Curriculum as published
GCSE · A-Level
Languages of instruction
English
Official website
woodhousegrove.co.uk
Researched
2026-09-01

Woodhouse Grove is a co-educational day and boarding school at Apperley Bridge, West Yorkshire BD10 0NR, between Leeds and Bradford. Its junior school, Brontë House, is half a mile away at BD10 0PQ. The schools together serve ages 2–18.

Consider Woodhouse Grove if you want boarding or a day-school journey that works from the Leeds–Bradford corridor. Compare The Grammar School at Leeds if you want a day school at Alwoodley Gates. These are separate schools: decide first whether your child needs residential accommodation, then compare the journey and programme.

School stages and qualifications

Ashdown Lodge provides nursery and preschool education. Brontë House provides the junior years; the last ordinary point for new admission is the beginning of Year 5. That admissions limit does not mean the junior school ends in Year 5. The Grove provides Senior education from Year 7 through Sixth Form, leading to GCSEs and A-levels.

Sixth Form entry requires at least five GCSEs at grade 4 or above, including at least grade 6/B in the chosen A-level subjects. Confirm the requirements for the intended subject combination.

The application page referred to places in Years 9 and 10 for September 2026. That statement does not establish availability for 2027.

Visiting

Visit Brontë House for a junior place and the Senior campus for an older child. For boarding, also ask to see the accommodation and discuss evening supervision, weekends and holiday arrangements.

The Year 7 page lists a showcase on Saturday 19 September and a normal-school-day visit on Thursday 15 October, without a year beside those dates. The weekdays match 2026, not a published 2027 schedule. Confirm the event date before booking.

Applying for a day place

The application page specifies a non-refundable £90 application fee, including VAT, for Reception through Year 13, paid through Flywire.

Nursery instead requires a £90 deposit. It is deducted from the first term’s fees if a place is offered and refunded if no place is offered. The reviewed application page does not state the acceptance-deposit amount for a Senior day place; ask admissions for that separately.

Year 7 entry in 2027

The published process includes:

  1. Apply in advance. The reviewed Year 7 page does not state a closing date, so obtain it from admissions.
  2. Attend a Candidate morning in the week beginning 11 January 2027. This includes assessments, a short interview with a senior member of staff, and lunch.
  3. Attend a Taster Day in the week beginning 8 February 2027.

The school offers awards for academic achievement, performing arts and music, and sport. It does not use a formal scholarship assessment day; it says it observes candidates in their own clubs and performance settings. Headmaster’s Awards cannot be applied for. Ask about the value and conditions of any award before including it in the budget.

International boarding applications

The boarding admissions page states a £125 registration fee excluding VAT. This is a different charge from the day-application fee.

Applicants take mathematics and English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) assessments and an online interview. If a visa is required, the school can subsequently issue a Confirmation of Acceptance for Studies (CAS), the reference used for the visa application. Confirm the conditions and timetable with boarding admissions.

Fees for 2026–27

The published fee table includes VAT:

Year group Per term Annual
Reception–Year 2 £4,590 £13,770
Years 3–6 £5,376 £16,128
Years 7–10 day £6,582 £19,746
Years 7–10 boarding £15,114 £45,342
Years 11–13 day £6,666 £19,998
Years 11–13 boarding £15,210 £45,630

Compulsory lunch costs an additional £315 per term, listed separately as excluding VAT. The school lists breakfast and tea within the fees for both day pupils and boarders.

For example, a Years 7–10 day pupil’s tuition and lunch total £6,897 per term, or £20,691 over three terms. A boarder in those years totals £15,429 per term, or £46,287 over three terms. These are calculations from the published amounts, before application charges, uniform and any other extras.

The listed inclusions also cover Brontë House wraparound care from 7.30am to 6pm, including tea; weekly swimming; first examination fees; career tests; and special learning support. Discuss the support available for your child rather than assuming that every individual need is covered by the general inclusion.

Our view

Choose Woodhouse Grove if its co-educational programme and Apperley Bridge location work for your family, particularly if boarding is needed. For a day pupil, boarding provision alone is not a reason to prefer it over another school: compare teaching, activities and the daily journey.

Sources used for this portrait

Official pages and documents we read. If a figure matters to your budget or your application, open the link and confirm it is still current.

Friendly orientation, not an application. Dates, fees, and programme details move. Confirm everything with the school.

Other school profiles

Keep reading