St John’s College is a co-educational day school at William Nicholls Drive, Old St Mellons, Cardiff CF3 5YX. It teaches from Nursery through Sixth Form, leading to GCSEs and A-levels.
Consider it if the east-Cardiff location works for your family. The Cathedral School, Llandaff is a separate day-school option in another part of Cardiff. Compare the actual journeys and programmes rather than assuming that either location will be equally convenient.
Entry stages and admissions
The admissions page says children may join during the year if a place is available. The linked policy reviewed for this guide is dated 2024–25. Confirm the current assessment arrangements and whether a newer policy applies.
Under that policy:
- Nursery entry begins in the term after the third birthday. It has a stated maximum of 17 places, with full-time attendance or part-time options of three full days or five mornings.
- Sixth Form entry requires at least five GCSEs at A–C and an interview*. The policy does not specify a Sixth Form entrance examination. Ask how current GCSE grading and individual A-level subject requirements apply.
The school says it has welcomed international applicants for twenty years and that many stay with homestay families. Homestay is accommodation with a host family, not school boarding. Use the overseas-applicant contact on the admissions page to clarify accommodation, guardianship and any visa arrangements before committing.
Scholarships and bursaries
The published information describes three academic scholarships worth 5% each year for pupils in the school’s R12 and R14 classes. Assessments take place in R11 in mathematics and English, and in R13 in mathematics, English and science.
These are the school’s class labels, not ordinary national Year 12–14 labels. Ask admissions to confirm the corresponding entry stage for your child and the current assessment dates.
A limited number of means-tested bursaries are available. The reviewed fee-remissions document is dated 2025–26, so obtain the current sibling-discount and assistance terms rather than relying on its older amounts.
Fees for 2026–27
The 2026–27 fee table lists the following termly amounts, including VAT. The discounted column applies to prompt payment by the stated dates.
| Year |
Fee |
Prompt-payment (by 1 Sept / 1 Jan / 1 Apr) |
| Nursery |
£3,555 |
£3,484 |
| Reception–Year 1 |
£4,895 |
£4,797 |
| Year 2 |
£4,975 |
£4,876 |
| Years 3–5 |
£5,720 |
£5,606 |
| Year 6 |
£6,120 |
£5,998 |
| Years 7–11 |
£6,905 |
£6,767 |
| Sixth Form |
£7,290 |
£7,144 |
The sports supplement is £70 per term from Reception through Sixth Form. There is also a one-off £250 laboratory-consumables charge for pupils joining at R8 or above; confirm which national year group that school label means.
Bus routes serve South Wales, with fares in a separate document. Some co-curricular activities cost extra. Textbooks are lent, but lost or damaged copies may be charged.
For a Years 7–11 pupil, three standard tuition payments plus three sports supplements total £20,925 a year. This calculation excludes buses, trips and other applicable charges.
The reviewed 2026–27 fee page does not state a registration fee. The 2025–26 handbook gave £125, but that is not a confirmed current charge. Ask admissions for the amount payable with your application.
Sources used for this portrait
Official pages and documents we read. If a figure matters to your budget or your application, open the link and confirm it is still current.
Friendly orientation, not an application. Dates, fees, and programme details move. Confirm everything with the school.